The 2021 Laureus World Sports Award nominees have officially been announced. A number of big names in tennis have made the elite list, with the virtual awards show scheduled for May. 


A post shared by Laureus (@laureussport)

Here's who made the elite cut: 


Rafael Nadal

The Spaniard is nominated for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year along with Joshua Cheptegei, Armand Duplantis, Lewis Hamilton, Lebron James and Robert Lewandowski. Since 2006, Nadal has been nominated for a Laureus award eight times, winning on three occasions. 


Naomi Osaka

The reigning Australian Open champion scored a nomination for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year. She's joined in the category by Ann Van Der Breggen, Federica Brignone, Brigid Kosgei, Wendie Renard and Breanna Stewart. This marks Osaka's third Laureus nomination, having won Breakthrough of the Year in 2019. 


Iga Swiatek and Dominic Thiem

The 19-year-old won Roland Garros last fall, making history as the first Pole to win a major. She's in the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year category along with US Open champion Dominic Thiem. The rest of the breakthrough nominees include Ansu Fati, Patrick Mahomes, Joan Mir and Tadej Pogacar.  

Swiatek and Thiem are both being nominated for the very first time. Osaka and Nadal were two of six tennis players nominated last year, but none won.