It wasn't a typical season, but the players deserve as much recognition as ever. (Getty)

It wasn't the 2020 season anyone was expecting, but the players certainly deserve as much recognition as ever. The nominations are out for the 2020 ATP Awards, and the competitors who shined through under unusually tough circumstances are being recognized.

Here's who made the list:

The category of Comeback Player of the Year features Kevin Anderson, Andrey Kuznetsov, Vasek Pospisil and Western & Southern Open finalist Milos Raonic


A post shared by Milos Raonic (@mraonic)

Meanwhile, up for Most Improved Player of the Year are Ugo Humbert, Diego Schwartzman, Jannik Sinner and Andrey Rublev, winner of five ATP titles, which would have been an impressive feat in even normal season. 

The nominees for Newcomer of the Year are Carlos Alcaraz, Sebastian Korda, Lorenzo Musetti, Jurij Rodionov, Thiago Seyboth Wild and Nur-Sultan semifinalist Emil Ruusuvuori

And in the running for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award​, which has been won by either Roger Federer or Rafael Nadal every year since 2004, are SchwartzmanNadalDominic Thiem and John Millman.


A post shared by John Millman (@johnnyhm)

The award for Coach of the Year is determined by the tour's coaches, and voting for the Fans' Favourite singles player and doubles team is available here and open through Dec. 11. (Federer has won that one every single season since 2003.)