My shot grazed the top of the net and continued over, landing inside the court. One of my doubles
opponents hit the ball back over the net but yelled, “Let!” because she believed the ball went through the net. We stopped play. All of us, including our opponents, then agreed that the ball hadn’t gone through the net. The player who called the let insisted we replay the point. I disagreed. Who was right?

— Christa Galehouse, Cuyahoga Falls, OH

You were right. The Code, #20, does give your opponent the responsibility for calling a shot hit by you that they see pass through the net. But since you all agreed that the ball actually went over the net, her call stopped play, and her team should have lost the point. Under Rule 26, making an erroneous call that stops play is a deliberate hindrance.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com