Naomi Osaka holding the Indian Wells title. (AP Photo)

The nominees for various WTA Year-End awards were released in October. For Player of the Year, there were many worthwhile choices, such as Petra Kvitova, Naomi Osaka and Caroline Wozniacki, but the eventual victor was French Open champion Simona Halep.

Earning her first Grand Slam and ending the season as world No. 1, the Romanian definitely earned the title. However, some fans may think that another player is more deserving of the award.