In one of your previous answers you stated, “movement … that is made solely to distract an opponent … is not allowed.” So is faking a move not allowed? Say my doubles partner serves and, before the receiver hits the return, I fake that I am going to cut across by moving over a couple of steps and then move back. Is that not legal? That doesn’t seem right.
— Stan Walker, Newhall, CA
What you quoted is legal and part of The Code, #35. It follows this: “A player may feint with the body while the ball is in play. A player may change position at any time, including while the server is tossing the ball.” What you can’t do is something “solely to distract,” like waving your arms or stamping your feet.
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: firstname.lastname@example.org