The three candidates are among eight on the ballot for induction next year. (Courtesy of the ITHOF)

After six weeks of fan voting, the results from the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s first-ever Fan Vote are in. 

Of the eight nominated candidates, two-time major winner Li Na finished in first place, Wimbledon champion Goran Ivanisevic came in second place and former world No. 3 Mary Pierce earned third place.

This is the first time ever that the Hall of Fame is including bonus points earned from fan voting with the results from the Official Voting Group, which consists of journalists, historians and Hall of Famers. 

To be elected, a candidate must receive 75 percent or more affirmative votes. For first place in the fan vote, Li receives a three percent bonus, Ivanisevic gets a two percent and Pierce adds one percent.

“It is a great honor to be nominated for the International Tennis Hall of Fame and I’m so grateful for the fan support in this process," Li said. "My fans were such a huge part of what made my playing career special for me, and it’s really wonderful to have this opportunity to continue that relationship with them today. I am honored to be nominated for this great accolade in tennis, and I look forward to hearing the Hall of Fame voting results in January.”


For their remarkable accomplishments and the the unforgettable moments they served up, these eight great champions are the candidates for the ITHF Class of 2019. ???? . . ???????? 2-time Major Champ, China’s great Li Na . ???????? Wimbledon legend Goran Ivanisevic . ???????? 4-time Major Champion Mary Pierce . ???????? King of Clay Thomas Muster . ???????? Swedish doubles legend Jonas Bjorkman . ???????? Former world No. 1 Yevgeny Kafelnikov . ???????? Back-to-back Roland-Garros champ Sergi Bruguera . ???????? Wimbledon champion & 5-time Fed Cup champ Conchita Martinez . . . #tennishalloffame #ITHFVote ✅???? #flashbackfriday #tennis #tennishistory #atpworldtour #wta

A post shared by Intl Tennis Hall of Fame (@tennishallofame) on

There are five other nominees for the Class of 2019: Jonas Bjorkman, Sergi Bruguera, Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Conchita Martinez and Thomas Muster.

The Class of 2019 will be announced on January 22 at the Australian Open. The Induction Ceremony will be held on July 20  in Newport, R.I.