While following an approach shot to the net, I stumbled and lost grip of my racquet. I caught it just below the throat and unexpectedly hit a volley winner. My opponent claimed the point was his, as I wasn’t holding onto the actual grip of the racquet. I disagreed strongly and refused to concede the point.
— Chris Whipps, San Francisco, CA
Stand firm, there’s nothing to concede. Appendix II to the Rules of Tennis says the racquet “shall consist of a frame and string(s).” And while it further defines the “hitting surface” as the strings, there is nothing in the rules that prevents a ball from being struck legally by any part of the racquet, no matter how it’s being held.
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: firstname.lastname@example.org