In doubles, I ran outside the sideline and ripped a return so hard that my string broke. I dropped the racquet, picked up my backup racquet that was close by, and continued playing. Is it legal to switch racquets during a point?
—David H. Callahan, East Kingston, NH
Ah, the old switcheroo. You certainly should get extra points for inventiveness, reaction time and athleticism . . . just not in this match. Rule 4, Case 5, states that a player is not “allowed to use more than one racquet at any time during play.”
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: firstname.lastname@example.org