My partner was receiving at 15-15. After we managed to win a very long point, the server stepped to the line, announced “30-15,” and served. It was a fault, at which point I said, “Hold on, it’s 15-30.” A debate ensued, and we started to recount the points, until my partner said since he had already served, the score stood. Is that right?

— John Buzinkai, Chattanooga, TN

Nope. Reconstruct the previous points and, if you can agree on the score, proceed from there. The server is going to get a first serve if the score was announced correctly. If it was incorrect, you’ll probably grant a first serve because you’re good sports, but it could be argued that it’s a second serve because the delay was caused by the server’s error (The Code, Item 30).


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com