One opponent hit a lob from the baseline that was clearly going out. But before the ball landed, his partner called a let when a ball from the next court rolled behind our baseline. We thought the point was ours since the supposed interference was after he hit the lob and had no bearing on the outcome of the point. Let or no let?
— Tim Rohr, Houston, TX
While technically the point was not over when the let was called, the “destiny” of the point had been determined. Rule 26 says the point shall be replayed if a player “is hindered in playing the point… by something outside the player’s own control.” Your opponent was not hindered “in playing the point,” since he already hit the lob. No let.
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: firstname.lastname@example.org