My opponent called a let after I won a point, saying it was because a bee was attacking him. I told him he couldn’t prove it and it was my point. Was that the correct call?
— Rodrigo Moreno, Louisville, KY
In the absence of a bee carcass, proof is impossible. The first time such a claim is made, I’d be inclined to give my opponent the benefit of the doubt (The Code, Item 1). If your opponent called the let after you won the point, tough luck for him. But if he had a play on the ball and stopped immediately, as The Code, Item 33, requires, tough luck for you.
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: email@example.com