In doubles, my opponent at net was about to hit a sitter close to the net. I stood in front of him, anticipating blocking the ball back. His shot went out, but he called me for a hindrance. He said I was standing too close and he couldn’t swing. I said as long as I’m not breaking the plane of the net I can do that. Who was correct?

— Ryan Evaristo, Vero Beach, FL

It’s your point. There’s no rule against your racquet, or a part of your body, “breaking the plane of the net,” except if it’s your racquet contacting the ball before a shot comes over the net (Rule 24.h). And there’s no hindrance unless your positioning was somehow between your opponent and the ball.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com