At deuce in a doubles match using no-ad scoring, the receivers made their choice of who would receive. While the point was going on, a ball rolled onto the court and we called a let. In this case, must the original choice of the receiver stand or can the receiving team make a new choice?

— Emil Dizon, Las Vegas, NV

Emil, you get extra credit for asking a highly original question, and one for which there is no direct citation in either the Rules of Tennis or The Code. However, research yields that on the ATP Tour, which uses no-ad scoring in doubles, the choice is unchangeable.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com