During a doubles match, my partner called a second serve out. I thought he made a good call, but the serve was really close. Our opponent flipped out and didn’t let up, demanding the call be reversed. I told him that the call stands and the serve was out, but because I didn’t want to make a big deal of it, I said that we were willing to replay the point. Can our opponent then claim the point?

—Ben Zaiser, Midlothian, VA

This is not the time for a discussion since it can lead to more problems. If you “thought he made a good call,” support your partner and simply say, “The ball was out.” Offering to play a let shows doubt on your part, and  under the principles of The Code, Items 12 and 14, you would be obligated to concede the point. Better to just let your opponent flip out.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com